The following is an excerpt from the Morning Owl Farm Apprenticeship Application I filled out in January or February of this year.

Application Questions:

1. Why do you want to apprentice on an organic farm?

I graduated from Boise State University in December 2009 with a degree in Business Management.  Despite the fact that I also double minored in history and philosophy – two subjects I love but can’t “do much with” (aside from teach) – I was plagued with regret by my “safe” decision to study business and “keep my options open.”  Initially I chose this path of business – a road overly traveled – because I didn’t know what I wanted to do with my life.  I realized very quickly that a career in the corporate world wasn’t for me, but I still didn’t know what to do.  My schooling experience became increasingly characterized and dominated by contradiction and contention between what I was studying and who I was becoming as an individual, as a member of society, and as a being on this planet.  By the time I found my passions I was in my last years of school and just needed to be done.  Today, I find myself in a better place where I’ve realized the potential benefits of an education geared toward business while still resolving to live a life I can be at peace with.

So what about the question?  Why do I want to apprentice on an organic farm?

The philosophical and lofty version: An apprenticeship on an organic farm opens up opportunities for me to live the kind of life I’m passionate about – a life close to the earth, connected to the community, and working towards a new paradigm.

The practical version:  Though I’ve always had a love for things that grow, I have zero background in farming (aside from the typical backyard garden).  I simply need hands-on experience.

Entry #4 – 7/13/2010
